NAGC 2016 Award Recipients

An important reason to get together each year at the NAGC Convention is to recognize the amazing scholars, teachers, administrators, and advocates who work to ensure that gifted children are seen, understood, and challenged. NAGC receives many nominations and the Awards Committee does a thorough and thoughtful review of each candidate. 2017 award nominations open January 9.  Below is a list of this year's NAGC award winners.

Ann F. Isaacs Founder’s Memorial Award

Jane Clarenbach, Former Director of Public Education, NAGC

President’s Award

Ellen Honeck, Dean Gifted and Talented Academy, Laurel Springs School                                                                                                                                                                                         

Gifted Child Quarterly Paper of the Year                                                                                                                                                                                     

Katie Larsen McClarty, Questar
“Life in the Fast Lane: Effects of Early Grade Acceleration on High School and College Outcomes”
Volume 59, Issue 1

Doctoral Student Award

Ahmed Mohamed Abdulla, Doctoral Student, University of Georgia
Lynn Dare, Doctoral Candidate, University of Western Ontario
Dianna Mullet, Doctoral Candidate, University of North Texas,
Susan Dulong Langley, Doctoral Candidate, University of Connecticut
Sue Hyeon Paek, Doctoral Candidate, University of Georgia

Early Leader Award

Jill L. Adelson, Associate Professor of Educational Psychology, Measurement, and Evaluation, University of Louisville

Early Scholar Award

Matthew McBee, Associate Professor, East Tennessee State University

Distinguished Service Award

Paula Olszewski-Kubilius, Professor, School of Education and Social Policy; Director, Center for Talent Development; Northwestern University

Distinguished Scholar Award

Susan G. Assouline, Myron and Jacqueline Blank Endowed Chair in Gifted Education and Director, Belin-Blank Center, The University of Iowa

Hollingworth Award

Emily Mofield, Lead Consulting Teacher for Gifted Education, Sumner County Schools and
Megan Parker Peters, Assistant Professor of Education, Director of Teacher Education, Lipscomb University

Marie Arsalidou, Assistant Professor, National Research University Higher School of Economics (Not at the event)

NAGC David W. Belin Advocacy Award

Sally Y. Walker, Executive Director, Illinois Association for Gifted Children (Not at the event)

NAGC David W. Belin Advocacy Award

Maureen Marron, Executive Director, Iowa Talented and Gifted Association; Gail Kenkel, Iowa Talented and Gifted Association; Catherine Blando, Supervisor, Student Teaching, Iowa Wesleyan University; Chief Business Development Officer, Blando & Associates Consulting, LLC

Gifted Coordinator Award

Diane Naff, Supervisor, Gifted Education, Montgomery County (VA) Schools
Lenae Lazzelle, Gifted Education Director, Springfield (MO) Public Schools

Master’s & Specialist Award

Laura Gary, Teacher, Renfroe Middle School, City of Decatur (GA) Schools
Keila Moreno Navarrete, Graduate Assistant, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Zane Scott-Tunkin, Teacher, Academy High School, Mapleton (CO) Public Schools

Community Service

Laura Bailey Ecke, Assistant Director of Innovative and Advanced Programs, Hall County (GA) Schools