Carolyn Callahan Doctoral Student Awards

The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) annually presents the Doctoral Student Award to a maximum of five doctoral students who have demonstrated exemplary work in research, publications, and educational service, as well as their potential for future scholarship. University faculty members are invited to nominate candidates for this award.

Submission Procedure & Checklist
The NAGC national office will make every effort to contact those who have nominated a colleague to let them know of any missing materials prior to the deadline.

  • The faculty member submitting the nomination completes the online form detailing why the nominee would be an appropriate recipient of the award.
  • Two letters of recommendation (from other than the person submitting the nomination) from persons who have the ability to judge the graduate work done by the nominee.
  • Vita and/or supporting documents for the nominee (membership in professional organization(s) in gifted child education; research; publications; presentations to professional groups; educational service).

Selection Criteria
Potential for future scholarship by the nominee as demonstrated through:

  • Membership in professional organizations in gifted education.
  • Presentations to professional groups.
  • Research, publications, and educational service.
  • Scholarly productivity.


  • An individual may receive this award once.
  • The nominee must be: enrolled in a doctoral-level training program focusing on the education of the gifted and talented, or have been graduated from such a program within one year prior to the NAGC convention at which this award is to be presented to him or her (some exceptions can be made for international candidates; please contact NAGC if this graduation date affects your eligibility).
  • No more than two nominees from a single university will be given awards in any one year.

The recipient(s) of the award and the other applicants, will be notified of the Awards Committee's decision in writing no later than August 31.